hD

Balance Sheet Summary

First American Financial (FAF) annual balance sheet covering fiscal 2017 through 2022, as reported to the SEC.

  • First American Financial had total assets of $14.96B and total liabilities of $10.27B as of December 31, 2022. That leaves shareholders' equity of $4.69B.
  • Total assets were down 9.1% from $16.45B in fiscal 2021.
  • Cash and cash equivalents were $1.22B, down 0.37% from $1.23B. That is 8.2% of total assets.
  • Notes and contracts payable were $1.65B, or 11% of total assets, down 0.13% from $1.65B.
  • First American Financial has built up retained earnings of $3.72B.

Total assets have grown 9.3% a year on average since fiscal 2017, from $9.57B to $14.96B.

A balance sheet shows what a company owns and what it owes on a single date. The difference between the two belongs to shareholders.

Figures in USD millions
Dec'22Dec'21Dec'20Dec'19Dec'18Dec'17
Assets
Cash and cash equivalents

1,223

1,228

1,275

1,485

1,467

1,387

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Cash and cash equivalents

1,223

1,228

1,275

1,485

1,467

1,387

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Accounts and accrued income receivable, less allowance for credit losses of $20.9 and $21.3

367

441

385

324

325

311

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Accounts and accrued income receivable, less allowance for credit losses of $20.9 and $21.3

367

441

385

324

325

311

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Income taxes receivable

22

11

1

10

11

38

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Income taxes receivable

22

11

1

10

11

38

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Investments:
Deposits with banks

63

58

46

44

36

41

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deposits with banks

63

58

46

44

36

41

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deposits with savings and loan associations and banks

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deposits with savings and loan associations and banks

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Debt securities (amortized cost of $8,413.5 and $9,169.6; pledged of $96.8 and $86.0)

8,169

9,362

6,355

5,913

5,713

4,752

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Debt securities (amortized cost of $8,413.5 and $9,169.6; pledged of $96.8 and $86.0)

8,169

9,362

6,355

5,913

5,713

4,752

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Equity securities

754

1,176

750

392

353

466

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Equity securities

754

1,176

750

392

353

466

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Other investments

-

-

-

239

121

117

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Other investments

-

-

-

239

121

117

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Note receivable from CoreLogic

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Note receivable from CoreLogic

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Investments, Total

8,987

10,596

7,151

6,589

6,225

5,378

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Investments, Total

8,987

10,596

7,151

6,589

6,225

5,378

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Secured financings receivable

422

565

748

287

76

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Secured financings receivable

422

565

748

287

76

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Loans receivable, net

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Loans receivable, net

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Property and equipment, net

636

506

445

442

457

439

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Property and equipment, net

636

506

445

442

457

439

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Operating lease assets

248

249

266

291

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Operating lease assets

248

249

266

291

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Title plants and other indexes

639

587

585

579

577

568

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Title plants and other indexes

639

587

585

579

577

568

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deferred income taxes

54

14

14

18

16

22

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deferred income taxes

54

14

14

18

16

22

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Goodwill

1,798

1,588

1,379

1,150

1,144

1,113

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Goodwill

1,798

1,588

1,379

1,150

1,144

1,113

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Other intangible assets, net

193

218

194

91

109

99

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Other intangible assets, net

193

218

194

91

109

99

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Other assets

361

448

353

246

219

214

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Other assets

361

448

353

246

219

214

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total assets

14,955

16,451

12,796

11,519

10,630

9,573

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total assets

14,955

16,451

12,796

11,519

10,630

9,573

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Liabilities and Equity
Deposits

5,519

5,069

3,277

3,337

3,786

3,070

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deposits

5,519

5,069

3,277

3,337

3,786

3,070

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Accounts payable

-

87

56

58

47

68

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Accounts payable

-

87

56

58

47

68

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Personnel costs

-

376

314

218

199

194

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Personnel costs

-

376

314

218

199

194

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Pension costs and other retirement plans

-

494

452

439

386

401

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Pension costs and other retirement plans

-

494

452

439

386

401

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Other

-

305

157

103

145

129

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Other

-

305

157

103

145

129

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Accounts payable and accrued liabilities

915

1,262

979

820

778

793

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Accounts payable and accrued liabilities

915

1,262

979

820

778

793

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deferred revenue

196

224

272

252

243

240

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deferred revenue

196

224

272

252

243

240

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Due to CoreLogic, Inc. (CoreLogic), net

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Due to CoreLogic, Inc. (CoreLogic), net

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Reserve for known and incurred but not reported claims

1,325

1,284

1,178

1,063

1,042

1,028

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Reserve for known and incurred but not reported claims

1,325

1,284

1,178

1,063

1,042

1,028

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Income taxes payable

10

24

54

25

8

4

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Income taxes payable

10

24

54

25

8

4

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deferred income taxes

18

345

291

266

217

219

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Deferred income taxes

18

345

291

266

217

219

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Operating lease liabilities

269

274

296

322

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Operating lease liabilities

269

274

296

322

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Secured financings payable

366

538

516

278

76

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Secured financings payable

366

538

516

278

76

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Notes and contracts payable

1,645

1,648

1,011

728

732

732

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Notes and contracts payable

1,645

1,648

1,011

728

732

732

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Allocated portion of TFAC debt

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Allocated portion of TFAC debt

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total liabilities

10,267

10,668

7,874

7,094

6,885

6,090

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total liabilities

10,267

10,668

7,874

7,094

6,885

6,090

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Commitments and contingencies (Note 17)

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Commitments and contingencies (Note 17)

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Stockholders’ equity:
Preferred stock, $0.00001 par value; Authorized—0.5 shares; Outstanding—none

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Preferred stock, $0.00001 par value; Authorized—0.5 shares; Outstanding—none

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Common stock, $0.00001 par value; Authorized-300.0 shares; Outstanding-103.2 shares and 103.2 shares

-

-

-

0

0

0

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Common stock, $0.00001 par value; Authorized-300.0 shares; Outstanding-103.2 shares and 103.2 shares

-

-

-

0

0

0

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Additional paid-in capital

1,812

2,179

2,215

2,300

2,258

2,236

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Additional paid-in capital

1,812

2,179

2,215

2,300

2,258

2,236

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Retained earnings

3,721

3,680

2,655

2,161

1,644

1,311

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Retained earnings

3,721

3,680

2,655

2,161

1,644

1,311

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

TFAC's invested equity

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

TFAC's invested equity

-

-

-

-

-

-

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Accumulated other comprehensive loss

-868

-92

40

-41

-160

-67

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Accumulated other comprehensive loss

-868

-92

40

-41

-160

-67

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total stockholders’ equity

4,664

5,767

4,910

4,420

3,741

3,479

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total stockholders’ equity

4,664

5,767

4,910

4,420

3,741

3,479

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Noncontrolling interests

23

16

12

4

3

3

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Noncontrolling interests

23

16

12

4

3

3

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total equity

4,688

5,783

4,922

4,425

3,745

3,483

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total equity

4,688

5,783

4,922

4,425

3,745

3,483

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total liabilities and equity

14,955

16,451

12,796

11,519

10,630

9,573

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

Total liabilities and equity

14,955

16,451

12,796

11,519

10,630

9,573

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx

xxxxx